

With thanks to the Sponsors









Tyne Rowing Club



1852 - 2002

"A meeting of gentlemen interested in the formation of an Amateur Rowing Club was held at the Crown and Thistle yesterday evening, when it was resolved that such a club be formed, and upwards of sixty gentlemen immediately entered themselves as members".

Newcastle Chronicle, 17th December, 1852

Sesquicentennial Dinner

Monday 16th December 2002
The Civic Centre, Newcastle upon Tyne













Presidents

1907 - 1936	Lord Joicey
1937 - 1949	Hon W.L. Runciman
1950 - 1988	Viscount Runciman
1989 - 1995	Brian A Brown, Esq.
1995 -	James E Nisbet, Esq.

Captains

1907 - 09	John Wallace	1965 - 67	WELowry
1910	F Douglas	1968	R B Bradbeer
1911	John Wallace	1969	A R Kernahan
1912 - 13	Herbert Stewart	1970	BArmstrong
1914 - 15	C B Fenwick	1971	IF McQuattie
1916 - 18		1972 - 74	GAppleby
1919 - 20	Hedley Stewart	1975 - 76	M Marshall
1921 - 23	M J Mail	1977	NN Totman
1924 - 27	WR Lowry	1978	M Marshall
1928 - 29	BA Brown	1979	M Marshall/ D Swan
1930	M J Mail	1980	D B Swan
1931 - 32	WR Lowry	1981	R C Tarry
1933 - 34	BA Brown	1982	B Dalkin
1935 - 37	ADC Hamilton	1983 - 87	M A Ballantyne
1938	BA Brown	1988	DA O'Neill
1939	R F Walker	1989 - 90	WD Saddler
1940 - 45		1991	G Wheeler
1946	A Anderson	1992 - 93	DJ Chappell
1947	R L Thorp	1994	G Wheeler
1948 - 49	J R N Bell	1995 - 96	I L Boyd
1950	R Bruce	1997	P I Rigby
1951 - 53	JE Thompson	1998 - 99	DA Robinson
1954 - 59	JE Nisbet	2000 -	A TM Shiel
1960 - 64	M C Jackson		



The Scotswood Boathouse on Opening Day 1893



Boat-naming Ceremony at Newburn c.1961



















Senior Crew 1861



Senior Crew 1870



Senior Crew 1912



Senior Crew 1926



The First Eight-Oar winning Tyne Eights Regatta 1937



The First Eight to compete in the Thames Head 1953

















Menu

Bradan Roast Smoked Salmon on Winter Leaves

Northumbrian Broth
Brown Ale Roll

Roast Leg of Cheviot Lamb

Rosemary Jus

Seasonal Vegetables and Potatoes

Caramelised Apple Tart with Maple Syrup Ice Cream

Coffee & Chocolates

Port

Toast List

President ~ James E. Nisbet, Esq.

"The Queen"

~ Proposed by The President

"The Club"

~ Proposed by Mrs Diana M. Ellis

~ Response by Dr. T.I. Wagstaff

"Our Guests"

~ Proposed by B.R. Walker-Arnott, Esq.

 \sim Response by A.E. Glenton, Esq.

"Rowing"

~ Proposed by The President

 \sim Response by $\,$ Sir Steve Redgrave, C.B.E.

"The President"

~ Proposed by Dr. N.B. Sprague



















Senior Squad 1960



Senior Squad 1967-68, at the Annual Dinner, January 1969



First Women's Four 1979



Senior Crew 1986 - 30th in Thames Head



Tyne winning their heat at Henley 1989



Veteran Eight competing in Boston Marathon 1997













Brief Chronology

- 1852 16th December Tyne Amateur Rowing Club founded.
- 1853 17th May First Boathouse, a rented wooden shed, opened at Low Elswick. In first season, Tyne wins the then principal trophy, the University Plate, at Durham Regatta.
- 1854 Tyne organises Great North-of-England Regatta over 1.5 mile course from Scotswood to Benwell Fishery.
- 1861 Tyne wins Grand Ch Cup at Durham for first time. Also win Naworth Cup at Talkin Tarn outright.
- 1863 James Wallace (Tyne) third in Wingfield Sculls.
- 1870 Winners of Senior Fours at Hamburg Regatta.
- 1891 Club on verge of collapse, with only three oarsmen at start of season.
- 1893 15th July New Boathouse opened at Scotswood. Cost £,350. First eight-oared race on Tyne held on same day, between Nomads, Ryton, South Shields and Tyne ARC's, won by Tyne.
- 1910 "Newcastle Chronicle" Ch Cup, formerly the trophy for the English Professional Sculling Championship, donated by Mr Joseph Cowen. Renamed "Joseph Cowen" Ch Cup, it has been the principal trophy at the "At Home" ever since.
- 1914-18 Club affairs looked after by Frank Kirby.
- 1921-38 Tyne enjoys consistent success in Senior Fours and Sculls. In 1938, Durham Grand won for 12th time.
- 1931 Tyne wins Senior Fours at Bergen Regatta.
- 1937 Club acquires first racing Eight.
- 1939-45 Club affairs in hands of Alan Anderson, who became captain in 1946.
- 1952 Centenary dinner held on 16th December in County Hotel, Newcastle.
- 1953 Tyne crew competes in Thames Head for first time.
- 1957 6th April Third boathouse opened at Newburn. 4-lane repêchage system used for first time in England at the "At Home" Regatta.
- 1960 First winners of Page Pennant for ARA N-E League.









- 1965 Tyne placed in first 100 in Thames Head.
- 1966 Tyne Long Distance Sculling Race established.
- 1968 Tyne placed in first 50 in Thames Head.
- 1969 Three Tyne crews compete in Thames Head. October Major boathouse extension opened by Lady Runciman, the wife of the President, Viscount Runciman. Tyne win Page Pennant for ninth time in ten years.
- 1971 Four members of the club represent the River Tyne at Saint John, New Brunswick, in re-enactment of race in 1871 during which James Renforth, the Tyne stroke, collapsed and later died.
- 1973-74 David Sturge (Tyne) wins Wingfield Sculls twice in colours of London RC.
- 1979 A Tyne women's crew competes at local regattas for first time.
- 1980 Crew from Kennebecasis R C, Renforth, New Brunswick, visits Tyne for Newcastle 900 Festival.
- 1981 City of Newcastle R C formed. Many Senior members leave Tyne to join new club.
- John Bland records first Tyne victory at Henley, rowing in the Tyne/Notts
 County composite crew which won the Stewards Cup. Club name changed
 to Tyne Rowing Club on merger with City of Newcastle.
- 1986 Tyne finish in first 30 in Thames Head. Full four-oared crew competes at Henley for first time.
- 1990 "At Home" regatta held at Gateshead Garden Festival site.
- 1992 Rowing started at Ponteland HS by Dr Peter Hoare.
- 1996 Tyne coxless four competes in 125th Renforth Anniversary race on the Kennebecasis.
- 1999 Second major extension to Newburn Boathouse, financed by FSA grant and support from University of Northumbria, opened by the President, James E. Nisbet.
- 2000 Tyne women's best season to date with 3 wins in eights.
- 2002 Sesquicentenary of Club's foundation celebrated.



